Thanksgiving Thoughts From Ms. Burr’s Class

I received a podcast link from Ms. Betsy Burr, a first grade teacher at Jackson School, that included each of her students talking about what they are thankful for.  It was touching to hear them all talk about what is important to them.  The podcast really brightened by day and reminded me why we celebrate Thanksgiving.

 

Great Job By Bethune Elementary Staff!!!

When your phone rings at 6:00 a.m., it is generally not good news….I got a 6:00 a.m. phone call from Director of Operations Billy Smith telling me that there was no electricity in the town of Bethune (and Bethune Elementary) and that it might not be back up until 11:00 a.m.  When Mr. Smith and I got to Bethune around 7:15, Principal Duane Pate and the staff had everything well organized to start the school day, including breakfast and a plan for lunch.  I was tremendously impressed by their flexibilty and creativity.  Super job!!!  (Luckily, the electricty came back on around 8:00.)

Collision Tech Students Restore A Classic

While I was out at ATEC yesterday, I stopped by the Collision Tech class at ATEC to see how they were progressing on the restoration of a classic 1972 Mercedes.  They had made tremendous progress!  The class had completely fixed the many rusted out parts of the body and had sanded down the whole car.  This is going to be great when it’s finished!!