A Special Day

Veteran’s Day is always a special day for me.  I got to attend three outstanding observances.  First thing, I attended the ceremony at Lugoff-Elgin High School, which is organized by the school’s JROTC unit.  This is a longstanding tradition at LEHS, and the JROTC students always do a great job!  (After the ceremony, they went to Columbia to march in the parade there.)  Later in the morning, I attended the Patriotic Performance by the second graders at Doby’s Mill Elementary.  It was obvious how hard the students had prepared for the occasion, which included readings and singing.  Lots of parents there and lots of pictures and video taken.  At 11:00 a.m., I had the honor of participating in the yearly ceremony at American Legion Post 17, which included the JROTC units from Camden High, North Central High, and the Continuous Learning Center, in addition to the Camden High School Band providing the music.  This is as nice a community observance of Veteran’s Day as you’ll find anywhere.  I also think it’s great that our local radio station, WPUB, broadcasts the event.  I am extremely proud of all that our schools do with our community to observe Veteran’s Day!

Matia Goodwin Recognized

Congratulations to Jackson School Principal Matia Goodwin, who was recognized last evening by the local Mental Health Association with its yearly Humanitarian Award.  A well-deserved honor!

Meeting With Phi Delta Kappa

I enjoyed participating in a panel discussion this past evening at a meeting of the Phi Delta Kappa chapter in Sumter.  The panel included Randolph Bynum, the Superintendent of the Sumter School District, and Cleo Richardson, the Superintendent of the Lee County School District.  We had a lively discussion with the chapter members about critical issues facing public education in South Carolina.  I always appreciate my yearly invitation to participate on this panel.