Jackson High School Class of 1961

Over the weekend, the Jackson High School Class of 1961 had its fiftieth reunion.  I enjoyed opening their old school, the Pickett Building, on Saturday so that the class members could walk around and reminisce.  Heard a lot of great stories from the class members, who came from all over the country for the reunion.  I apologized for the fact that the air conditioning wasn’t on, and one of the class members said it hadn’t been on in 1961 either.  Great line!  Made my day!

Walking Around ATEC

I enjoyed spending a few minutes walking around ATEC on Friday afternoon.  I always have a good time visiting the Early Childhood class.  The new group seems to be adjusting nicely.  Also got by the Ag/Environmental Science class, where the students were getting ready to work on the crepe myrtles outside the building.  My last stop was the Collision Technology class, where a student named Joe explained the project the students were doing.  One of the things I like most about ATEC is the fact that students from througout Kershaw County have the opportunity to come together and work together.